Return to Reviews / Links

Older Reviews

Here are another five reviews that we received from a different vacation rental service that we have since discontinued:

Spacious, clean, great location

Interesting house in a pretty village. Lots of room, clean, wonderful rooftop deck. Very well equipped kitchen, wifi, English language tv and free telephone! The owner responded immediately to all questions and was both pleasant and helpful. There are a lot of stairs in the house – which was no problem at all for us, but might be a consideration for anyone with mobility issues. Neffies is a good center for touring around that area of France – nice to go back to at the end of the dayl

  • Stayed: October 2014
  • Submitted: November 8, 2014
  • Helen L

Excellent stay Neffies

We, 2 adults and a 13 years old child, had an amazing time in Neffies. The stay at Peter Tanners home was excellent. Above our expectations. Everything and more is present to make your stay in the house comfortable. The house is big and tidy. If we will visit France for a next time we will sure rent this house again. There is a lot to see and to do in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014
  • Submitted: August 14, 2014
  • Fam Hermsen, Amsterdam

Recommended for: Families with young children, Pet owners, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

 

What a wonderful place to stay.

The house has large walls revealing the original stone construction, exposed old beams in the kitchen/dining area, an old dry sink, staircases built of logs and tiles. The entrance doors are very old and need large metal keys for access. The balcony overlooking the street is 18” deep and 3′ wide with a wrought iron railing, very attractive. The kitchen, washer, dryer and bathrooms are all new. The home sleeps 6 very comfortably. There is a rooftop patio with a view of all of Neffies; you can sunbathe, or read in the shade of the roof overhang. All stores are just a short walk and have everything you would need to cook anything.

  • Stayed: July 2013
  • Submitted: November 4, 2013
  • Jim, Ontario

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Tourists without a car, Adventure seekers, Age 55+

 

We would highly recommend a stay at Libellule in Neffiès – truly an experience ‘out of time’

Our first visit to the south of France was a truly memorable experience, beginning with the discovery of Libellule, a renovated vacation rental in the village of Neffiès. Reviews from previous tenants and the informative website suggested a quiet location, local ambiance, and an accommodation that retained a great deal of rustic charm, while providing for modern comforts. It was indeed everything promised, an intimate and accessible example of an unofficial ‘belle village’ complete with historical remnants dating to the middle ages. The Canadian owners were wonderful, providing us with invaluable information about the area and Libellule, making us feel welcome and at home in their petite maison. Marie Hélène, the local caretaker proved a treasure, offering suggestions for local activities and markets for us to enjoy. Here the gentle, cultivated countryside unfolds in a bucolic impression, vineyards spilling in neat rows from each side of the road, strewn with a blush of poppies amongst the grasses of the verges and in the fields. Stone walls and buildings of considerable age exude an air of ‘since forever’. The quintessential experience of driving through the avenues of stately plane trees heralded our arrival, each a curving line of poetry, canted ever so slightly to the will of the prevailing winds. The tiny village charmed at every turn of the narrow road leading up into the village square, its ivy covered tower of medieval provenance, the fountain installed in a ‘7embre’ of a year centuries ago. Voluptuous roses, springing from impossibly small spots of earth, bloomed vividly against the yellow stuccoed or rock walls of the houses. Large keys opened an ancient door to an equally ancient set of stairs. Ascending with care, we bypassed the lower level where the family horse and grape press were once sequestered. On the upper levels, plastered walls were artfully scalloped to showcase the original stone of the walls and exposed timbers pleased the eye. The kitchen and washrooms were clean and well equipped. The beds were comfy and the rooftop terrace proved a lovely retreat. An exploration of the narrow lanes and shuttered homes of the village radiating outward from the church revealed the proximity of gastronomical delights at the épicerie, boulangerie, L’Echampette, the bistro-pub, and La Goutille, the exceptional first class restaurant. All felt friendly and safe. Many delights awaited us in our ventures further afield – another chapter!

  • Stayed: May 2012
  • Submitted: June 25, 2012
  • Joyce, Canada

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

Libellule

Libellule (Dragonfly)  – our French abode Libellule is an amazing house that dates from the 12th century. The history of this house surrounds you: large sections of unplastered walls revealing the original stone construction; exposed old beams in the kitchen/dining area; an old dry sink left for purely historical and aesthetic reasons, staircases built of logs and tiles. The entrance doors date from the 1700s and have large metal keys for access. Off the dining area there’s a teeny balcony overlooking the street; 18” deep and 3′ wide with a wrought iron railing, very Mediterranean. We were living in 900 years of history; in ways it feels like a movie set. Despite its history, Libellule’s kitchen appliances, washer, dryer, and newly updated bathrooms are well-appointed and modern. Two of the bedrooms have queen-sized beds; one has a single; the sitting-room sofa sleeps one so you could accommodate six people comfortably. Houses in southern France have no central heating, but the owner supplied electric heaters. Once the stone walls warmed we didn’t need the heaters and were cozy in March. For sitting outdoors, there’s a rooftop patio with a view of all of Neffies; you can sunbathe, or read in the shade of the roof overhang. Neffies is a quiet little town in the middle of wine country. An epicerie is a three-minute walk from Libellule and well-stocked with fresh meat, vegetables, fruit. They have canned duck (if you can believe it) that’s to die for. There’s a bakery that makes amazing breads, a Caveaux that stocks regional wines and preserves, and two restaurants in town. Les Goutailles provided the three best meals we had in all of France. Their menu changes seasonally. Their crown roast of lamb is amazing. Neffies is well situated for touring the region. It’s a half-hour drive from Beziers, ten minutes from Pezenas, forty minutes from the ocean and great seafood, 30 minutes from Olargues, and surrounded by other interesting sites like the strange geological outcroppings at Cirque de Moureze. The City of Carcassonne, an absolute must-see, is halfway between Neffies and Toulouse, our arrival airport. Touring Carcassonne, established in the 4th century, restored in the 19th, is a journey through time. The neighbours in Neffies are friendly and many speak English.

  • Stayed: March 2012
  • Submitted: April 15, 2012
  • Sharyn, Osgoode ON

 

Permanent link to this article: http://languedocvacationhome.ca/links/older-reviews/